Ep 361 – Minor Premiers and Hazards of Swimming Naked

Minor Premiers:

Live at Sonic Masala Fest, Greenslopes Bowls Club, 7 March 2020

Minor Premiers are a Brisbane band that evolved out of the solo work of songwriter Luke Daniel Peacock, who was previously featured in episode 179 of Live Delay. Following the release of his 2015 solo album “We’ve Come A Long Way Darling”, Peacock began working on new music with drummer and longtime collaborator Jhindu Lawrie.

The new songs were recorded at the Queensland University of Technology by audio student Ayla Scanlan, who also contributed backing vocals and eventually joined the band on bass. James Watson stepped in to provide a second guitar and the band were formed. Their debut album, “Sheets in the Garden”, was released in 2020.

Recorded by Branko Cosic
Mixed by Jack Davidson

Hazards of Swimming Naked:

Live at Yonder Festival, Mary Valley, 30 November 2019

Hazards of Swimming Naked have been a presence in Brisbane’s postrock circles going all the way back to 2005. The instrumental band have released two albums: 2009’s “Our Lines Are Down” and 2018’s “Take Great Joy”. They are made up of Adrian Diery, Gareth Rigden and Chris Lait on guitars, Cameron Diery on bass and Rick Anzolin on drums.

Recorded by Kat Williams
Mixed by Jonathan Virgona

This set was mixed by an audio production student from the Queensland University of Technology as part of their course.

Show production, engineering and host: Scott Mercer
Originally aired via Zed Digital, 7-8pm, Sunday 27 June, 2021

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top