Ep 235 – Seja; McKisko

Ep 235 Instagram

Photo: Justin Edwards


Recorded and mixed by Reuben Aptroot
Recorded at Sonic Masala Fest, Brisbane, 19th August 2017

Brisbane via Germany musician Seja Vogel, has had a prolific career since starting her first band Sekiden in 1998. Once signed to Modular they released 2 albums and 2 EP’s, touring extensively throughout Australia, Canada, Japan and the USA.

She was also a touring member of Brisbane favourites Regurgitator, joining in 2007 and also contributed to the Love and Paranoia album which was released in the same year. Seja has also lent her keyboarding and singing skills to touring buddies such as SPOD, David McCormack and Ben Salter.

In 2010 Seja began releasing under her own name with her debut solo album We Have Secrets But Nobody Cares via Rice Is Nice. Working with Robert Forster, Cut Copy’s Tim Hoey, Regurgitator’s Ben Ely and Wally De Backer, Seja wrote and recorded a second volume of sweetly synthesised soundscapes entitled All Our Wires in 2013.


Recorded and mixed by Branko Cosic
Recorded at Sonic Masala Fest, Brisbane, 19th August 2017

McKisko is Helen Franzmann, a Brisbane-based musician who began her musical career writing and performing in the band Redbreast. After winning the Grant McLennan Fellowship in 2009, she recorded and released her debut under the McKisko moniker entitled Glorio, and then toured the country non-stop supporting the likes of Bon Iver and Jose Gonzales.

She then followed up with 2013’s Eximo, which was released through El Nino records. Her songs are built using inventive instrumentation, an intimate honesty, and a lyricism that journeys through abstract landscapes imbued with emotion.

Airing details: Originally via Zed Digital, 7-8pm, Sunday 4th of February 2018.

Show production and engineering: Reuben Aptroot.

Scroll to Top