Episode 42: The Slow Push

the slow pushWe go back for a second helping of live music from Brisbane’s Beetle Bar – including in some live post-punk/indie rock from electric five piece THE SLOW PUSH.


Recorded by Darragh Murray.
Mixed by Branko Cosic.
Recorded at The Beetle Bar, Brisbane. 

Our feature set today comes from Brisbane group The Slow Push, a five piece who delve into the realm of post-punk and indie rock, with an eclectic sound driven by the hyperactive vocals and stage presence of their chief songwriter and front man, Chris Hetherington.

The band as had a bit of a shifting lineup, but has settled with the likes of Meagan Chanel McKewn, Phil Driver, Scott Mercer and Dave Klokman, making up the current incarnation.

They’re release a host of singles and EPs, and two long players – 2009’s ‘We Blame the Overachievers’ and returned in 2012 with ‘Misshappen Giants’.

The live set we have for you today takes in a bit of both. It was recorded at The Beetle Bar in Brisbane in September 2013 when the band played with The Bell Divers and the Stress of Leisure.

Stream online:

Find out more about The Slow Push.

Feature Interview: Chris Hetherington of The Slow Push.

Listen to an extended interview with Chris Hetherington:

Airing details: Originally via Zed Digital, 8-9pm, Friday 8 November 2013.
Show production and engineering: Darragh Murray.
Kudos: Branko Cosic, The Beetle Bar.

Scroll to Top